About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Friday, June 21, 2013

Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award 2011

from Castleton Lyons accessed 6/21/13

"It is only right to promote the horse through literature." - Dr. Tony Ryan

In 2006, the late Dr. Tony Ryan had a vision for supporting those who promote the Thoroughbred through literature. In a perfect culmination of his love for fine arts and for Thoroughbred racing, Dr. Ryan developed his idea for a literary award that would honor the best books pertaining to any aspect dealing with Thoroughbreds.

As with everything he set his mind to, this would not be done in just any way. He conceived the idea to recognize the best racing-related books published in a given year with $10,000 to be awarded to the winner, a cash prize that competes with literature awards such as the National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize. Nominees from any category may be submitted: fiction,non-fiction, handicapping, children's, health care, photography, etc., as long as it pertains to any aspect of the Thoroughbred.

Dr. Ryan partnered with the THOROUGHBRED TIMES to promote and coordinate what would be the inaugural Castleton Lyons-Thoroughbred Times Book Award in 2007. Now in it's seventh consecutive year the Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award, since named for the visionary responsible for its inception, still remains one of the richest literature awards in the world.

Winners of the Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award;

2012 - Patrick Smithwick, Flying Change: A year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing
2011 - Milton Toby, Dancer's Image: The Forgotten Story
2010 - Jaimy Gordon, Lord of Misrule
2009 - James E. "Ted" Bassett & Bill Mooney, Keeneland's Ted Bassett: My Life
2008 - Rudy Alvarado, The Untold Story of Joe Hernandez: The Voice of Santa Anita
2007 - T.D. Thornton, Not By a Long Shot: A Season at a Hard Luck Horse Track
2006 - Joe Drape, Black Maestro

No comments:

Post a Comment