About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Monday, March 7, 2011

American History Book Prize (2010-11)

from New York Historical Society accessed 3/1/10
Awarded for an adult non-fiction book on American history or biography copyrighted in 2009 that is distinguished by its scholarship, its literary style and its appeal to a general as well as an academic audience. Last year’s winner of the New-York Historical Society American History Book Prize was Drew Gilpin Faust for This Republic of Suffering: Death and the American Civil War. Previous winners include Daniel Walker Howe (What God Hath Wrought), David Nasaw (Andrew Carnegie), and Doris Kearns Goodwin (Team of Rivals).

2011 Prize
Ron Chernow has won the American History Book Prize, sponsored by the New-York Historical Society, for Washington: A Life

2010 Prize
Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789–1815 (Oxford University Press) by Gordon S. Wood has won the American History Book Prize, sponsored by the New-York Historical Society, according to the New York Times. The prize comes with a $50,000 award, an engraved medal and the title of the American Historian Laureate. Wood is a professor emeritus at Brown University.

No comments:

Post a Comment