About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Friday, March 18, 2011

Man Asian Literary Prize (2007-10)

2010 Man Asian Literary Prize, accessed 12/14/10

2010 Longlist
Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu --
Way to Go by Upamanyu Chatterjee
Dahanu Road by Anosh Irani
Serious Men by Manu Joseph --shortlist
The Thing About Thugs by Tabish Khair --shortlist
Tiger Hills by Sarita Mandanna
The Changeling by Kenzaburo Oe --shortlist
Hotel Iris by Yoko Ogawa --shortlist
Monkey-man by Usha K.R.
Below the Crying Mountain by Criselda Yabes

2009 Man Asian Literary Prize - Longlist Announced in July, shortlist announced 10/15/09

Man Asian Literary Prize is an annual award for an "Asian novel unpublished in English". The Prize was launched in 2007 and is now in its third year. [Then are they published in English?]

The objectives of the Asian Literary Prize are: To bring exciting new Asian authors to the attention of the world literary community; To facilitate publishing and translation of Asian literature in and into English; and To highlight Asia's developing role in world literature.

The Administrative Committee for the 2009 Man Asian Literary Prize has today announced the longlist of works for this prize:

Gopilal Acharya , With a Stone in My Heart
Omair Ahmad , Jimmy the Terrorist -- shortlist
Siddharth Chowdhury, Day Scholar -- shortlist
Kishwar Desai , Witness the Night
Samuel Ferrer , The Last Gods of Indochine
Eric Gamalinda , The Descartes Highlands -- shortlist
Ram Govardhan, Rough with the Smooth
Kanishka Gupta, History of Hate
Kameroon Rasheed Ismeer , Memoirs of a Terrorist
Ratika Kapur , Overwinter
Mariam Karim, The Bereavement of Agnes Desmoulins
Sriram Karri , The Autobiography of a Mad Nation
Nitasha Kaul , Residue -- shortlist
R . Zamora Linmark , Leche
Mario I. Miclat, Secrets of the Eighteen Mansions
Clarissa V. Militante, Different Countries
Varuna Mohite, Omigod
Dipika Mukherjee, Thunder Demons
Hena Pillai , Blackland
Roan Ching-Yueh, Lin Xiu-Tzi and her Family
Edgar Calabia Samar, Eight Muses of the Fall
K. Srilata, Table for Four
Su Tong, The Boat to Redemption -- shortlist -- Winner!
Oyungerel Tsedevdamba, Shadow of the Red Star

2008 Prize
Miguel Syjuco for Ilustrado

Kaveri Nambisan, The Story that Must Not be Told
Siddharth Dhanvant Sanghvi, The Lost Flamingoes of Bombay
Miguel Syjuco, Ilustrado
Yu Hua, Brothers
Alfred A. Yuson, The Music Child

Tulsi Badrinath, Melting Love
Hans Billimoria, Ugly tree
Ian Casocot, Sugar Land
Han Dong, Banished
Anjum Hasan, Neti,Neti
Daisy Hasan, The To-Let House
Abdullah Hussein, The Afghan Girl
Tsutomu Igarashi, To the Temple
Rupa Krishnan, Something Wicked This Way Comes
Murong Xuecun, Leave Me Alone, Chengdu
Kavery Nambisan, The Story that Must Not be Told
Sumana Roy, Love in the Chicken’s Neck
Vaibhav Saini, On the Edge of Pandemonium
Salma, Midnight Tales
Siddharth Dhanvant Sanghvi, Lost Flamingoes of Bombay
Lakambini Sitoy, Sweet Haven
Sarayu Privatsa, The Last Pretense
Miguel Syjuco, Ilustrado
Amit Varma, My Friend, Sancho
Yu Hua, Brothers
Alfred Yuson, The Music Child

2007 Longlist
Tulsi Badrinath, The Living God
Sanjay Bahadur, The Sound Of Water
Kankana Basu, Cappuccino Dusk
Sanjiv Bhatla, InJustice
Shahbano Bilgrami, Without Dreams
Saikat Chakraborty, The Amnesiac
Jose Dalisay Jr., Soledad’s Sister --shortlist
Reeti Gadekar, Families at Home --shortlist
Xiaolu Guo, 20 Fragments of a Ravenous Youth
Ameena Hussein, The Moon in the Water
Nu Nu Yi Inwa, Smile As They Bow --shortlist
Jiang Rong, Wolf Totem --winner!
Hitomi Kanehara, Autofiction
N S Madhavan, Litanies of Dutch Battery
Laxmi Narayan Mishra, The Little God
Mo Yan, Life and Death Are Wearing Me Out
Nalini Rajan, The Pangolin’s Tale
Chiew-Siah Tei, Little Hut of Leaping Fishes
Shreekumar Varma, Maria’s Room
Anuradha Vijayakrishnan, Seeing The Girl
Sujatha Vijayaraghavan, Pichaikuppan
Xu Xi, Habit of a Foreign Sky --shortlist
Egoyan Zheng, Fleeting Light

No comments:

Post a Comment