About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Friday, July 10, 2009

Rittenhouse Award 2009

Charles (Chuck) S. Hutchinson Jr. has won the 2009 Jack D. Rittenhouse Award, which is given by Publishers Association of the West to honor "individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the book community in the West."

PubWest Board president Todd Berger said that the winner's "wide-ranging, 50-year career as a regional sales manager, editor-in-chief, founder of two publishing companies, and publishing consultant fits perfectly with the spirit of the award."

Hutchinson has worked for Geoscience Press, Harbinger House, Van Nostrand Reinhold, Ross Publishing Co., Dowden, Hutchinson & Ross, Reinhold Book Corporation and Burgess Publishing Company. PubWest said that "two of his most notable publishing programs" have been in collaboration with series editors: the Community Development/Environmental Design Series with series editor Richard. P. Dober, Belmont, Mass. (45 books published); and the Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series with series editor Dr. R. W. Fairbridge, Columbia University (16 volumes published).

The award will be presented on November 14 during PubWest's annual National Publishing Conference and Book Industry Trade Show, to be held this year in Tucson, Ariz.

No comments:

Post a Comment