About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Egon Hostovský Prize (1976-2000 incomplete)

In the United States, Egon Hostovský worked for Radio Free Europe but never stopped being a full-time Czech writer. He never mastered the English language and all his novels had to be translated from Czech which was one of the reasons he never became a star novelist in the United States. Meanwhile, Egon Hostovský's novels were banned in Czechoslovakia. One of his most important books, “Všeobecné spiknutí”, or “The Plot”, did get published in Prague in 1969, in the aftermath of the brief period of liberalization known as the Prague Spring. Egon Hostovský never visited his native country again, and died in New Jersey in 1973. A year later, his wife Regina established the Egon Hostovský Award, a literary prize for proscribed Czech writers which was awarded to such Czech authors as Ludvík Vaculík, Ivan Klíma, Egon Bondy and others.

Topol, Jáchym. Sister City Silver (2000)
The first novel by the young Czech poet and rock lyricist Jáchym Topol. Winner of the Egon Hostovský Prize as best Czech book of the year.

Berková, Alexandra. Magorie (1991)
won the Egon Hostovsky Prize as the best Czech book of the year.

Klíma, Ivan. My First Loves (1990)
won the Egon Hostovský Prize for best prose work of the year in 1990 (the first time it could be awarded in Prague)

Kresadlo, Jan (pseud for Vaclav Pinkava). GraveLarks (1984)
was published by Josef Škvorecký's emigre publishing house '68 publishers, and obtained the 1984 Egon Hostovský prize.

Grusa, Jiri. The Questionnaire: Or Prayer for a Town and a Friend. (1979)
The novel was the winner of the 1979 Egon Hostovsky Prize for best piece of Czech fiction published abroad.

Salivarová, Zdena. Ashes, Ashes, All Fall Down (1976)
Awarded the Egon Hostovský Memorial Prize for best Czech fiction written in exile, 1976.

No comments:

Post a Comment