About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Newbery, Caldecott Honors and More ALA awards 2006

The ALA announced its major book awards yesterday (01/23/06) at the midwinter conference in San Antonio:

The John Newbery Medal, for "the most outstanding contribution to children's literature," went to Lynne Rae Perkins for Criss Cross.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for "the most distinguished American picture book for children," was awarded to Chris Raschka, illustrator of The Hello, Goodbye Window written by Norton Juster.

The four Newbery Honors titles were:
  • Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler's Shadow by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
  • The Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
  • Show Way by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by Hudson Talbott
  • Whittington by Alan Armstrong, illustrated by S.D. Schindler

The Caldecott Honors winners:

  • Hot Air: The (Mostly) True Story of the First Hot-Air Balloon Ride by Marjorie Priceman
  • Rosa illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Nikki Giovanni
  • Song of the Waterboatman and Other Pond Poems illustrated by Beckie Prange, written by Joyce Sidman
  • Zen Shorts by Jon J. Muth

The Michael L. Printz Award for "excellence in literature written for young adults" went to Looking for Alaska by John Green (Dutton).

The Coretta Scott King Author Award for an African American author of "outstanding books for children and young adults" went to Day of Tears: A Novel in Dialogue by Julius Lester.

The Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award was won by Rosa, a Caldecott Honors book (see above).

The Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award went to Jimi & Me by Jaime Adoff

The Pura Belpre Illustrator Award honoring a Latino illustrator whose "children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience" was won by Dona Flor: A Tall Tale About a Giant Woman with a Great Big Hear illustrated by Raul Colon, written by Pat Mora.

The Pura Belpre Author Award went to The Tequila Worm by Viola Canales.

The Schneider Family Book Award for "books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience" went to:
  • (ages 10 and below) Dad, Jackie, and Me by Myron Uhlberg, illustrated by Colin Bootman
  • (ages 11-13) Tending to Grace by Kimberly Newton Fusco
  • (ages 13-18) Under the Wolf, Under the Dog by Adam Rapp

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for "the most distinguished beginning reader book" was won by Henry and Mudge and the Great Grandpas by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Sucie Stevenson.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award for "lifetime achievement in writing for young adults" went to Jacqueline Woodson, author of, among other titles, I Hadn't Meant to Tell You This, Lena, From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun, If You Come Softly and Miracle's Boys.

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for "most distinguished informational book for children" went to Secrets of a Civil War Submarine: Solving the Mysteries of the H.L. Hunley by Sally M. Walker.

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children's video was won by Michael Sporn, of Michael Sporn Animation, and Paul Gagne and Melissa Reilly, of Weston Woods Studios, producers of The Man Who Walked Between the Towers, based on the book by Mordicai Gerstein.

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award for "an outstanding children's book translated from a foreign language and published in the U.S." went to Arthur A. Levine Books for Innocent Soldier, originally published in German in 2002 as Der Russländer, by Josef Holub and translated by Michael Hofmann.

No comments:

Post a Comment