About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Friday, January 14, 2011

Langum Prize for American Historical Fiction and Legal History (2001-10)

from Langum Charitable Trust website accessed 2/22/10

David J. Langum, Sr. Prize in American Historical Fiction
A prize to encourage and reward excellent American historical fiction is a natural element in our effort to make the rich history of America accessible to the educated general reader. The David J. Langum, Sr. Prize in American Historical Fiction is offered annually to the best book in American historical fiction that is both excellent fiction and excellent history. Any press may publish the work, with the exceptions that the book may not be self-published or published by a subsidized publisher.

David J. Langum, Sr. Prize in American Legal History or Biography
This prize is made annually to be the best university press book in American legal history or biography that is accessible to the educated general public, rooted in sound scholarship, and with themes that touch upon matters of general concern to the American public, past or present.

2010 Winners
Ann Weisgarber for The Personal History of Rachel DuPree
Robin Oliveira for My Name is Mary Sutter -- Honorable Mention
Kelli Carmean for Creekside: An Archeological Novel -- Special Mention
Jackson Taylor for The Blue Orchard -- Special Mention

2009 Winners:
Edward Rutherfurd for his New York: The Novel
Elizabeth Cobbs Hoffman for In the Lion’s Den: A Novel of the Civil War -- Special Mention
Jamie Ford for Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet -- Special Mention

2008 Winners:
Kathleen Kent for The Heretic’s Daughter: A Novel -- Winner
Elisabeth Payne Rosen for Hallam’s War -- Honorable Mention
Jack Fuller’s Abbeville -- Special Mention

2007 Winner:
Kurt Andersen for his Heyday, a novel

2006 Winner:
Sheldon Russell for his Dreams to Dust: A Tale of the Oklahoma Land Rush

2005 Winner:
Madison House: A Novel by Peter Donahue

2004 Winner:
Linda Busby Parker for her Seven Laurels: A Novel -- Winner
Sanora Babb, for Whose Names Are Unknown: A Novel -- Honorable Mention

Robert J. Begiebing for his Rebecca Wentworth’s Distraction: A Novel 

2002 -- No award given
2001 -- No award given

Langum Prize for Legal History
2008 Winners:
Ernest Freeberg for Democracy’s Prisoner: Eugene V. Debs, the Great War, and the Right to Dissent -- Winner
Peter Charles Hoffer for the book, The Treason Trials of Aaron Burr -- Honorable Mention

2007 Winner:
Bruce J. Dierenfield for The Battle over School Prayer: How Engel v. Vitale Changed America

2006 Winners:
Saul Cornell for A Well-Regulated Militia: The Founding Fathers and the Origins of Gun Control in America --Winner
Carolyn N. Long for her Mapp v. Ohio: Guarding against Unreasonable Searches and Seizures -- Honorable Mention

2005 Winner:
To the Flag: The Unlikely History of the Pledge of Allegiance by Richard J. Ellis -- Winner
Griswold v. Connecticut: Birth Control and the Constitutional Right of Privacy, by John W. Johnson -- Honorable Mention

2004 Winner:
John M. Ferren for Salt of the Earth, Conscience of the Court: The Story of Justice Wiley Rutledge -- Winner
Fries's Rebellion: The Enduring Struggle for the American Revolution by Paul Douglas Newman -- Honorable Mention

Robert J. Cottrol, Raymond T. Diamond, and Leland B. Ware for their Brown v. Board of Education: Caste, Culture, and the Constitution 

2002 (two winners):
Stuart Banner for his The Death Penalty: An American History
Lawrence M. Friedman for his American Law in the 20th Century

Elizabeth Urban Alexander for her Notorious Woman: The Celebrated Case of Myra Clark Gaines

No comments:

Post a Comment