About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Saturday, September 5, 2009

Ridley Award

From 2005 Idaho Governor's Proclamation regarding the Award (accessed 09/05/09)

WHEREAS, Popular Fiction Association of Idaho, Inc. is a volunteer, non-profit, community based organization that promotes education and literacy in the community; and

WHEREAS, children need to be encouraged to read and write and be rewarded for their efforts to expand their knowledge and imagination; and

WHEREAS, it is good for the community to have authors, editors, and agents speak to and advise society about mystery writing; and

WHEREAS, Popular Fiction Association of Idaho, Inc. has volunteered to organize the giving of an annual award by the State of Idaho to an author who has significantly contributed to the mystery field; and

WHEREAS, such award shall be named after Idaho’s best selling suspense author, Ridley Pearson and Ridley Pearson has agreed that such an award be named after him; and

WHEREAS, Carolyn Hart is the author of more than thirty-five novels, is a widely acclaimed author of mystery and general fiction, and she has been chosen to be the fifth recipient of The Ridley;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, DIRK KEMPTHORNE, Governor of the State of Idaho, do hereby proclaim that THE RIDLEY be given annually to a writer who has significantly contributed to the mystery field and that the fifth recipient of "The Ridley" be Carolyn Hart on June 11th, 2005, at Boise's annual mystery conference, Murder in the Grove.

No comments:

Post a Comment