About This Blog

Mostly lists and information about award books and other interesting lists of books, color coded as follows:

RED–Read since ~2000
PINK–Read before that
BLUE–To Be Read and Added to Goodreads

NOTE: Listings may not be complete and sources aren't always quoted but I'm working on that.

Search This Blog

Book Montage

Catherine 's to-read book montage

The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
Only You Can Save Mankind
Nice and Mean
Cruisers Book 1
The City of Ember
Crispin: The End of Time
Lost Goat Lane
Amelia Rules! Volume 1: The Whole World's Crazy
How I, Nicky Flynn, Finally Get a Life
As Simple as It Seems
Wolf Brother
The Ogre of Oglefort
The Pickle King

Catherine 's favorite books »

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Lukas Winners (1999-2010)

2010 Lukas Book Prize
David Finkel. The Good Soldiers

2010 Lynton History Prize
James Davidson. The Greeks and Greek Love: A Bold New Exploration of the Ancient World

2010 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Jonathan Schuppe. Ghetto Ball: A Coach, His Team, and the Struggle of an American City

The 2009 winners of the Lukas Prize Project Awards, given to works of literary nonfiction, include, as noted by the New York Times:

The Dark Side: The Inside Story of How The War on Terror Turned into a War on American Ideals by Jane Mayer (Doubleday) has won the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize.

Vermeer's Hat: The Seventeenth Century and the Dawn of the Global World by Timothy Brook (Bloomsbury) has won the Mark Lynton History Prize.

not published yet -- Yellow Dirt: The Betrayal of the Navajos by Judy Pasternak, which will be published by the Free Press, has won the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award.

The awards are sponsored by Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism and the Nieman Foundation at Harvard University.

from Nieman Foundation accessed 7/7/10:
About J. Anthony Lukas
The J. Anthony Lukas Prizes are named for a winner of two Pulitzer Prizes, one as a newspaperman and the other as a book author.

Lukas' first Pulitizer, in 1968, was for "The Two Worlds of Linda Fitzpatrick," an article in The New York Times on the life and, eventually, death of a wealthy Connecticut teenager involved in drugs and the hippie movement. The second Pulitzer, in 1986, was for his book, "Common Ground," about Boston school desegregation.

J. Anthony Lukas began his newspaper career at The Harvard Crimson. After he won his first Pulitzer, he returned to Harvard as a Nieman Fellow in the Class of 1969. Even with his success he did not like the demands of daily journalism and turned to writing books.

Lukas committed suicide June 5, 1997, at the age of 64, shortly after completing "Big Trouble," concerning the trial of a labor leader for the murder of a former Idaho governor at the turn of the century. Despite praise, Lukas, a brooding, intense perfectionist, expressed dissatisfaction with the book. Earlier he had written "Nightmare," about the Nixon years.

At his funeral Cassandra Twyman who, as a black school girl had figured prominently in "Common Ground," said: "He wrote what I said, not the opposite, exactly the way I said it. I was scared. I was frightened."

After his death Anne Bernays, the novelist, wrote that if she were asked to name one characteristic that belonged to Tony she would say "his absolute lack of guile, agenda, pretentiousness. He never tried to impress or mess around with you. Tony was, above all, straightforward."

2008 Lukas Book Prize
Jeffrey Toobin. The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court

2008 Lynton History Prize
Peter Silver. Our Savage Neighbors: How Indian War Transformed Early America

2008 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Michelle Goldberg. The Means of Reproduction

2007 Lukas Book Prize
Lawrence Wright
The Looming Tower: Al Quaeda and the Road to 9/11

2007 Lynton History Prize
James T. Campbell
Middle Passages: African American Journeys to Africa, 1787-2005

2007 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Robert Whitaker
Twelve Condemned to Die: Scipio Africanus Jones and The Struggle for Justice That Remade a Nation

2006 Lukas Book Prize
Nate Blakeslee.  Tulia: Race, Cocaine, and Corruption in a Small Texas Town

2006 Lynton History Prize
Megan Marshall.  The Peabody Sisters: Three Women who Ignited American Romanticism

2006 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Laura Claridge.  Emily Post and the Rise of Practical Feminism

2005 Lukas Book Prize
Evan Wright.  Generation Kill: Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the New Face of American War

2005 Lynton History Prize
Richard Steven Street.  Beasts of the Field: A Narrative History of California Farmworkers, 1769-1913

2005 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Joan Quigley.  Home Fires

2004 Lukas Book Prize
David Maraniss.  They Marched into Sunlight: War and Peace, Vietnam and America, October 1967

2004 Lynton History Prize
Rebecca Solnit.  River of Shadows: Eadweard Muybridge and the Technological Wild West

2004 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
John Bowe.  Slavery Inc.

2003 Lukas Book Prize
Samantha Power.  Problem from Hell: America and the Age of Genocide

2003 Lynton History Prize
Suzannah Lessard.  Mapping the New World: An Inquiry into the Meaning of Sprawl,

2003 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Robert Harms.  The Diligent: A Voyage Through the Worlds of the Slave Trade

2002 Lukas Book Prize
Diane McWhorter.  Carry Me Home: Birmingham, Alabama, The Climactic Battle of the Civil Rights Revolution

2002 Lynton History Prize
Mark Roseman.  A Past in Hiding: Memory and Survival in Nazi Germany

2002 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Jacques Leslie.  On Dams

2001 Lukas Book Prize
David Nasaw. The Chief: The Life of William Randolph Hearst

2001 Lynton History Prize
Fred Anderson. Crucible of War: The Seven Years' War and the Fate of Empire in British North America, 1754-1766

2001 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Max Holland. A Need to Know: Inside the Warren Commission

2000 Lukas Book Prize
Witold Rybczynski. A Clearing in the Distance: Frederick Law Olmsted and America in the Nineteenth Century

2000 Lynton History Prize
John W. Dower. Embracing Defeat: Japan in the Wake of World War II

2000 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
James Tobin. Work of the Wind: A Remarkable Family, an Overlooked Genius, and the Race for Flight

1999 Lukas Book Prize
Henry Mayer. All on Fire: William Lloyd Garrison and the Abolition of Slavery

1999 Lynton History Prize
Adam Hochschild. King Leopold's Ghost: A Story of Greed. Terror. and Heroism in Colonial Africa

1999 Lukas Work-in Progress Award
Kevin Coyne. The Best Years of Their Lives: One Town's Veterans and How They Changed the World

No comments:

Post a Comment